Housing update

*|MC:SUBJECT|*

GREAT NEWS!
CALIFORNIA VOTERS PASSED
PROP 1 & 2
PROVIDING MUCH NEEDED FUNDS THAT WILL HELP MORE PEOPLE FIND HOUSING

November is Homelessness Awareness Month

The Board of Supervisors declared November Homelessness Awareness Month.  Many advocates attended the meeting including Gwen Watson and Doug Leich from the Multi-faith ACTION Coalition's Steering Committee. 
The Contra Costa Council on Homelessness presented Doug Leich with an honorable mention for OUTSTANDING volunteer on November 13th. Congratulations!
A message from Doug Leich with a Call to ACTION
Greetings,
As many of you know, the state of California is providing over $7 million for homeless services to Contra Costa County, through the Homeless Emergency Aid Program (HEAP).  This is one-time funding that provides the opportunity to make needed investments to improve and expand the county’s homeless crisis response systems, which can include services, rental assistance or subsidies, capital improvements to current infrastructure or develop additional infrastructure, and youth services.

One of the requirements of the state is that in order for money to be spent in a jurisdiction (city or town) the jurisdiction must declare a shelter crisis. Declaring a shelter crisis does not commit the city to any other action. It is simply the means by which funding is allowed to be used in a city. If a jurisdiction does not pass a  shelter crisis declaration, funds cannot be used for rental assistance, rental subsidies or capital projects in that jurisdiction.

A number of cities have already adopted the shelter crisis declaration. The following cities are considering declaring a shelter crisis in the next two weeks in order to open the door for resources for their constituents.  We encourage you to reach out to the contacts in your cities/towns this week to provide your input about moving forward with the shelter crisis declaration which allow new resources to be utilized by people in your community experiencing
homelessness.

Concord
Mayor: Edi Bursin citycouncil@cityofconcord.org
City Manager: Valerie Barone citycouncil@cityofconcord.org
Chief of Police: Guy Swanger guy.swanger@cityofconcord.org

Danville
Mayor: Newell Arnerich arnerich@danville.ca.gov
City Manager: Joe Calabrigo Jcalabrigo@danville.ca.gov
Chief of Police: Allan Shields ashields@danville.ca.gov

Lafayette
Mayor: Don Tatzin dtatzin@lovelafayette.org
City Manager: Steven Falk sfalk@lovelafayette.org
Chief of Police Craig Stevens: cstevens@sanramon.ca.gov

Orinda
Mayor: Eve Phillips ephillips@cityoforinda.org
City Manager: Steven Salomon ssalomon@cityoforinda.org
Chief of Police: Mark Nagel mnagel@cityoforinda.org

San Ramon
Mayor: Bill Clarkson bclarkson@sanramon.ca.gov
City Manager: Joseph Gordon CityManager@sanramon.ca.gov
Chief of Police: Craig Stevens cstevens@sanramon.ca.gov

Sincerely,

Doug Leich
Chair, Contra Costa Council on Homelessness
Copyright © *|CURRENT_YEAR|* *|LIST:COMPANY|*, All rights reserved.
*|IFNOT:ARCHIVE_PAGE|* *|LIST:DESCRIPTION|*

Our mailing address is:
*|HTML:LIST_ADDRESS_HTML|* *|END:IF|*

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.

*|IF:REWARDS|* *|HTML:REWARDS|* *|END:IF|*